top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturesoniaxyho

Writing Sample: Personal Writing (From My Blog)

TAIWAN TRAVEL LOG~ OTAKU HOTSPOTS

Hey there Potatots, Happy September. I am sorry for taking too long to write this down, the wifi speed in Malayisa is just terrible. Now, I’m back at college to finish off my final diploma semester. Yay…. /Incoherent crying at the background   Anywho, back to topic~ Taiwan is SERIOUSLY Otaku Heaven for poor people that can’t afford to go Japan. On my first two days in Taiwan, I visited my sister’s Residential area which is Hsin Chu Town. Hsin Chu maybe a small town, but I managed to find some gems for you Otakus. There is a local bookstore in town that has a Manga section, you can get all kinds of manga and light novels from that bookstore. Sadly, I don’t have any pictures for that bookstore; however I remember it was located near a nike shop in Hsin Chu town. Next must go destination for you peeps would be a store also around Hsin Chu town would be, Kuang Nan Shop. This shop is my favorite. It has a floor for Manga and Merch for your favorite anime series. For fans who are seiyuu fans, the CD section will surely please you at Kuang Nan. There is one more comic book shop at Hsin Chu Town, near Jin Pin shopping center. Just like Kuang Nan, it sells a lot of manga there even games!


DVDs I found while blindly roaming the CD section. Mamo and Shouta’s Live performance Manga Section, on the 4th floor.



These are all Sin aka BL manga. Translated into the Chinese Language.





Some precaution for Sin buyers, please MAKE SURE your passport is with you AT ALL TIMES; Kuang Nan is strict at buying sins. (I had experience.)

For the next six days, I spent it at Taipei eating my heart out and getting sunburnt. Taipei has amazing places to see, the underground mall of the Taipei MRT station is HEAVEN. It is one of my personal favorite spot there; the ACG (Anime, Comics, Manga) side is my heaven. There were maid cafes there, I managed to walk by one. It’s called Maiden Diner, sadly I can’t take any photos because of their rules. That was the only open maid cafe I came across, but I didn’t went in as the majority customers there are males, and I kind of Paiseh to go in. = A = ”” However, the maid is kind enough to give me their card.


Mascot for the anime side of the underground mall


Final Fantasy Mobile Game Ad


Tekken Ad, you don’t see this publically shown in Train Stations in Malaysia

  Lastly, the moment you girls and guys? had been waiting for, I finally went to and died at ANIMATE TAIWAN! No shit, that place is heaven for girls and guys. All the original merch from Japan in ONE OFFICIAL STORE! I was lucky enough that Animate Cafe was also happening during my trip, and bonus; IT WAS TOUKEN RANBU EVENT! OH MY RNGSAMA! I did a live stream on Facebook during my day there, met some new saniwas chatted awhile, cried over my poor Malaysian Saniwa luck with all the Izuminokami Kanesada, Kane-san badges. Q A Q  Animate TW is located at Zhong Zheng District near Xi Men Ding, it is close to a hotel which I don’t really know the name due to being distracted by the cafe. (Kinta… Please) You need to walk down a fleet of stairs to go to the shop, it’s an underground shop.


My loots from the cafe blind Pick. TOO MANY KANE-SAN! > A <

Yuri and Viktor, for the Yuri on Ice hype. Yurio is a butt picture from me.   ◊ Bonus Content ◊

Why I say Taiwan is Japan for poor people, Anime ads EVERY WHERE and the public (Nonfans) are alright with it, they don’t really complain about it. The just brushed it off like it was nothing serious.  My other favorite thing in Taiwan is the Fate Grand Order promo train, I rode it TWICE and I am converted to be a FGO follower. Help. Even though I knew Fate series for a long time now…


FGO train, Round 1


Round 2, Hi Gil~ He got me into FGO. Well… He is one of my husbands.

 Overall, Taiwan was really fun. I can’t wait to go back there again. See you guys next time~

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page